Neuenburg Castle, Freyburg
Neuenburg castle (11th C), once owned by Thuringian landgraves, is a landmark on the Romanesque Road tourist trail perched high above the Unstrut. The castle was converted into a hunting lodge in the 16th century.
The huge castle complex high above the winegrowing town of Freyburg was founded in 1090. The twin-chapel, built in 1180, is a rare architectural gem. Events such as ”Montalbâne – The International Days of Mediaeval Music“ support the effect of the architecture. In the ”Children’s Chamber“, children of today can familiarise themselves with the historical background through play.