Parish church of St Lawrence and St Nicholas, Sandau
The church of St. Nicholas / St. Laurence (1200) is a landmark on the Romanesque Road.
The original structural elements and decorative friezes on the exterior have survived, as has the Romanesque painting in the clerestory windows. The late Romanesque three-nave brick structure is 49 m long. Bells have been hanging in the sound holes on the south wall since 1945. Inside, the nave had its flat ceiling restored in the 19th century. The Gothic ribbed vault (1450) in the choir has survived. Nothing remains of the churchs original furnishings. The late Romanesque baptismal font with its round base, octagonal bowl and frieze of tendrils around the outside was brought from the church at Felgeleben near Schönebeck an der Elbe, which was demolished in 1989.
The key for the church can be obtained from the rectory at 9 Kirchberg (Tel.: 039383-236)