Romanesque Route (en) | Buildings

St. John's Church, Wernigerode

Located on the north-western edge of the historic Neustadt (New Town), St. John's Church is the oldest extant church in Wernigerode. In this church, visitors enter a space for prayer and worship, for concerts and meetings, and at the same time a key place in Wernigerode's town history. The fortified west tower and the southern transept date back to the origins of the Romanesque building. There are signs that the consecration of the altar by the Halberstadt bishop Volrad in 1279 took place in the Romanesque period. The church was extended when the settlement was flourishing and Wernigerode’s Neustadt was granted city rights. The Romanesque nave was converted into a three-aisled hall. The late Gothic reconstruction of the choir marks the year 1497, as can be seen on the exterior, beneath the window of the choir-loft crown. The radical modifications to the church interior go back to a restoration in the 19th century. The ceiling, the aisle panelling, the pews and the neo-Gothic west gallery were installed in 1885. Among the most valuable items in the church are the organ by Friedrich Ladegast and the four-wing, carved altarpiece from 1415. In January 2016, the parish of St John's held an artist's competition and commissioned new windows, which were then made in the F. Schneemelcher glassworks in Quedlinburg after a design by the Wernigerode glass artist Günter Grohs. The new windows were officially unveiled in August 2016. Today, we can experience the interior of the church anew. The altarpiece is framed by modern glass art, which does not impose itself but highlights the richness of the images and the carvings of the altar of Mary, and directs the visitor's eye in a soothing way to the middle: baby Jesus in the arms of his mother. An image of worship and peace, that invites you to become human, to find peace within yourself, and to stand up for peace. Visitors are warmly invited to take in and enjoy the special atmosphere of St. John's Church.

Opening hours:

Easter to Harvest Festival: Tue – Sat, 10 am to 12 noon and 3 to 5 pm; Sun and public holidays, 11 am to 12.30 pm. In winter, by appointment

Admission: Admission is free. Donations are invited

Guided tours: these can be arranged by contacting the parish office (03943-906266) or via Wernigerode Tourismus GmbH (03943-55378-35).

Zurück

Informations

St. Johanniskirche

Pfarrstraße 24
38855 Wernigerode

Gesonderte Postanschrift

Kirche St. Johannis c/o Neue Evangelische Kirchengemeinde Wernigerode Pfarrstr. 24 38855 Wernigerode


Öffnungszeiten

Ostern bis Erntedank
Di. - Sa.: 10 - 12.00 Uhr und
So. nach Gottesdiensten: bis 12:30 Uhr

Von Oktober bis Ostern ist die Kirche nicht regelmäßig zur Besichtigung zugänglich.

Für Gruppen sind Besichtigungen auf Anfrage möglich.