Romanesque Route (en) | Buildings

The Schönburg

The Schönburg was built by the Thuringian Count Ludwig der Springer in the 12th century. According to legend, he had the castle built out of love for Adelheid, the wife of the Count Palatine of the House of Wettin. The castle towers about 40 metres above the River Saale, on a sandstone cliff. The plot consists of the outer and inner baileys, each having a nearly rectangular floor plan. Between them lies a Zwinger (outer ward), through which leads a chamber gate, with Romanesque edge columns in the gate reveal. Of special note are the 32-metre-high scalable keep, with its beautiful fireplace in the tower room, and the guardhouse at the top of the tower. The tower dates from around 1230. The last still remaining building in the inner bailey used to be called the Court House. Today, it is known as the Knight's Hall, and is used for weddings. Large parts of the defensive walls around the outer and inner baileys are preserved.

The older buildings and elements of the Schönburg that can still be seen today were mainly built in the 12th and 13th centuries. Since the castle was neither adapted to military requirements after firearms became widespread, nor converted into a residential palace, significant parts of the castle from that period have been preserved. The building next to the outer bailey gate is the former forester's lodge, and was built in 1539/40 in the style of the Renaissance. It houses a restaurant today.

Opening hours:

Castle tavern and tower

April – October     

Sun – Thu 11am – 6pm
Fri/Sat 11am – 10pm

November – March     

Fri/Sat 11am – 10pm
Sun – Thu 11am – 6pm

Zurück

Informations

Die Schönburg

Burg 1
06618 Schönburg

Gesonderte Postanschrift

Betriebsgesellschaft Schönburg GmbH Schönburg Nr. 77 06618 Schönburg


Öffnungszeiten

Burg
April bis Oktober
Mi. - So.: 11 - 18 Uhr
November bis März
Fr. - So.: 10 - 18 Uhr
Nach Absprache auch außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten und Führungen

Burgschänke
Mo. und Di. geschlossen
Mi. und Do.: 11 - 18 Uhr (Küchenschluss: 17:30 Uhr)
Fr. und Sa.: 11 - 20 Uhr (Küchenschluss: 19:00 Uhr)
So.: 11 - 18 Uhr (Küchenschluss: 17:30 Uhr)
außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten nach Absprache

Ein barrierefreier Zugang ist vorhanden.

Heute beherbergt sie die Burgschänke mit schönen, historischen Fresken über die Geschichte von Ludwig, dem Springer, und Adelheid, der Pfalzgräfin von Sachsen.

Die Burg kann eintrittsfrei besucht werden. Der kostenfreie Parkplatz befindet sich im Hof der Burg.